Staff Directory

The staff at the Graduate School are here to welcome and assist you in your academic career at UMBC. Each staff member has a specific work area and specialization. If you are unsure of who to contact with your question, please contact our Main Office and we will assist you:

gradschool@umbc.edu or 410-455-2537


Recruitment Team


D. Michael Suica

D. Michael Suica

Manager - Recruitment and Admissions

Graduate School

Administration 202A

suica1@umbc.edu

+1 410 455 1607

Megan Dignan

Megan Dignan

Marketing Coordinator

Graduate School

Administration 202B

digme1@umbc.edu

+1 410 455 3598

Back to Top

Admissions Team


K. Jill Barr

K. Jill Barr

Assoc. Vice Provost, Ass't Dean Grad School

Graduate School

Administration Bldg 214

jbarr@umbc.edu

+1 410 455 1337

Farah Ali

Office Supervisor

Graduate School

Administration

Maria Blanca

Maria Blanca

Manager, International Recruitment & Partnership

Graduate School

Jamie Lybarger

Residency Specialist/ Accounting Associate

Graduate School

Administration

jamily@umbc.edu

+1 410 455 1787

Teresa April Michel

Graduate Admissions Specialist

Graduate School

Administration

tmiche2@umbc.edu

+1 410 455 2908

Kathryn Nee

Kathryn Nee

North American Graduate Admissions Specialist

Graduate School

Administration Bldg 2nd FLoor

nee@umbc.edu

+1 410 455 2944

Dan Neeley

Dan Neeley

Operations Manager

Graduate School

Administration Bldg 207

dneeley1@umbc.edu

+1 410 455 3564

Scott Phillips

COEIT Liaison, International Admissions Manager

Graduate School

Administration

sphillips@umbc.edu

+1 410 455 8741

Back to Top

Progressions & Graduation Team


Lisa Morgan

Lisa Morgan

Asst. Dean, Grad Progressions and Acad. Serv

Graduate School

Administration Bldg 217

limorgan@umbc.edu

+1 410 455 8142

Shirl Curtis

Program Management Specialist

Graduate School

Administration Bldg

sfcurtis@umbc.edu

+1 410 455 3659

Nicole Mooney

Program Assistant

Graduate School

Administration 215

nmoone1@umbc.edu

+1 410 455 1197

Patricia Winborn

Patricia Winborn

Graduation Manager

Graduate School

Administration 216

pwinborn@umbc.edu

+1 410 455 2440

Back to Top

Technical Team


Mona Ahmad

Technology Coordinator - Grad School

Graduate School

Administration Bldg 204

MonaAhmad@umbc.edu

+1 410 455 2883

Back to Top

Student Development & Postdoctoral Affairs Team


Robin Cresiski

Assistant Vice Provost

Graduate School
Biological Sciences

Administration 202

rcresiski@umbc.edu

+1 410 455 2930

Sunji Jangha

Sunji Jangha

Director of Pipeline Programs

Upward Bound Mathematics and Science Center
Academic Opportunity Programs
Graduate School

Mathematics/Psychology 006

sjangha@umbc.edu

+1 410 455 3677

Wendy Carter-Veale

Wendy Carter-Veale

Director of Social Science Research, Evaluator

Graduate School

Administration Bldg 205

drcarter@umbc.edu

+1 410 455 2281

Yarazeth (she, her) Medina

Yarazeth (she, her) Medina

Assistant Director Graduate Student Development

Graduate School

Administration 205

yarazeth@umbc.edu

+1 410 455 3514

Back to Top

Associate Dean’s Office


Jeffrey Halverson

Jeffrey Halverson

Associate Dean and Professor of Geography

Graduate School
Geography and Environmental Systems

Administration 208

jeffhalv@umbc.edu

+1 410 455 3350

Dawn Galindo

Executive Administrative Assistant

Graduate Student Association
Graduate School

The Commons 308

dgalindo@umbc.edu

+1 410 455 3048

Back to Top

Dean’s Office


Janet Rutledge

Janet Rutledge

Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School

Graduate School

Administration Bldg 221

jrutledge@umbc.edu

+1 410 455 2199

Denise Atkinson

Executive Administrative Asst II

Graduate School

Administration Bldg

datkinson@umbc.edu

+1 410 455 2199

Shannon Mize

Shannon Mize

Business Services Specialist

Graduate School

Administration 221

Jennifer Artis

Jennifer Artis

Assistant Dean

Graduate School

Administration 214 A

Isabel Garrido

Isabel Garrido

Emeritus Assistant Dean

Graduate School

Administration Bldg

“It is the mission of the Graduate School to provide the administrative structure, leadership, and guidance necessary to support graduate education at UMBC, thereby facilitating excellence in teaching, innovation and rigor in research, and the personal and intellectual growth of our diverse graduate community.”

Back to Top